VCE Computing

This information is based on the study information provided by VCAA.


VCE Computing focuses on the application of a problem-solving methodology, and strategies and techniques for managing information systems in a range of contexts, to create digital solutions that meet specific needs. The study examines the attributes of each component of an information system including people, processes, data and digital systems (hardware, software, networks), and how their interrelationships affect the types and quality of digital solutions.


This study is made up of four units:

  • Units 1 and 2: Computing
  • Units 3 and 4: Software Development

Unit 1 and 2 Computing

In Unit 1, students focus on how data, information and networked digital systems can be used to meet a range of users’ current and future needs. In Unit 2, students focus on data and how the application of computational, design and systems thinking skills support the creation of solutions that automate the processing of data.

Some key knowledge and skills:

  • Microsoft Excel
  • Networks
  • Web development
  • Systematic problem solving methodology
  • Microsoft Access database
  • Cloud technologies

Unit 3 and 4 Software Development

In Software development Units 3 and 4 students focus on the application of a problem-solving methodology and underlying skills to create purpose-designed solutions using a programming language. Students learn to evaluate the efficiency and effectiveness of the solution in meeting needs or opportunities.

Some key knowledge and skills:

  • Java programming language
  • Android app development
  • IT related legal issues
  • Evaluation of effectiveness and efficiency of a digital solution


While the VCAA states that there are no prerequisites or entry to Units 1, 2 and 3, it is strongly recommended that all prior units are successfully completed before proceeding to subsequent units. Students must undertake Unit 3 prior to undertaking Unit 4.


Demonstrated achievement of the set of outcomes specified for the unit.

Units 1 and 2

Procedures for the assessment of levels of achievement are a matter for school decision. Assessment of levels of achievement for these units will not be reported to the VCAA. Schools may choose to report levels of achievement using grades, descriptive statements or other indicators.

Units 3 and 4

The VCAA specifies the assessment procedures for students undertaking scored assessment in Units 3 and 4. Designated assessment tasks are provided in the details for each unit in the VCE study designs.

The student’s level of achievement in Units 3 and 4 will be determined by School-assessed Coursework (SACs) and/or School-assessed Tasks (SATs) as specified in the VCE study designs, and external assessment.

  • Unit 3 School-assessed Coursework: 10 per cent
  • Unit 4 School-assessed Coursework: 10 per cent
  • School-assessed Task: 30 per cent
  • End-of-year examination: 50 per cent